Current ministers in Ghana Serving as of 2022/2023

Current ministers in Ghana Serving as of 2022/2023

Here is a list of current ministers in Ghana serving as of 2022/2023, including both those serving in the central government and those serving in the various regions.

Who is a Minister? 

A minister is a politician who heads a ministry, making and implementing policy decisions in conjunction with the other ministers.

In certain instances, the head of government is also a minister and is designated the “Prime Minister” or another title.

The President of Ghana, H.E. Nana Addo Dankwah Akufo-Addo, submitted to Parliament for approval, through the Speaker, Alban Bagbin, a list of names for appointment as ministers in his new government in January 2021.

This list included the names of 46 people who are expected to fill ministerial positions and assist the president in carrying out his mandate over the next four years.

Ahead of this official statement, the Head of Communications at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin, issued a communiqué indicating that the total number of ministers to be appointed by the President in his second term will not exceed 85.

This was in sharp contrast with the 126 ministerial appointments that characterized his first term in office.

Although the president maintained many of the appointees from his previous term, a few notable individuals could not make it this time around.

Key among those who were excluded from this list of nominees is Senior Minister, Yaw Osafo–Maafo; Minister for Local Government, Hajia Alima Mahama; Railways and Development Minister, Joe Ghartey; Ministry of Works and Housing, Samuel Atta Akyea; Attorney General; and Minister for Justice, Gloria Akuffo.

Central Government Ministers in Ghana 2022/2023

1 National Security Albert Kan Dapaah
2 Finance Ken Ofori-Atta
3 Trade and Industry Alan Kyerematen
4 Defence Hon. Dominic Nitiwul, MP
5 Interior Hon. Ambrose Dery, MP
6 Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey
7 Attorney General and Minister for Justice Godfred Dame
8 Local Government, Decentralisation & Rural Dev’t Hon. Dan Botwe, MP
9 Parliamentary Affairs Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, MP
10 Communications and Digitalisation Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP
11 Food and Agriculture Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto
12 Energy Hon. Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, MP
13 Education Hon. Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, MP
14 Health Hon. Kwaku Agyemang Manu, MP
15 Lands and Natural Resources Hon. Samuel Abdulai Jinapor, MP
16 Roads and Highways Hon. Kwasi Amoako-Atta, MP
17 Works and Housing Hon. Francis Asenso Boakye, MP
18 Transport Kwaku Ofori Asiamah
19 Fisheries and Aquaculture Development Hon. Mavis Hawa Koomson, MP
20 Railway Development Hon. John Peter Amewu, MP
21 Sanitation and Water Resources Cecilia Abena Dapaah
22 Tourism, Arts and Culture Awal Mohammed
23 Gender, Children and Social Protection Lariba Zuweira Abudu (Minister designate)
24 Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs Hon. Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP
25 Environment, Science, Technology & Innovation Hon. Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, MP
26 Employment and Labour Relations Hon. Ignatius Baffuor Awuah, MP
27 Information Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, MP
See also  Dr. Bawumia suggests solutions to Ghana’s economic crisis.
28 Youth and Sports Hon. Mustapha Yussif, MP
29 Public Enterprises Hon. Joseph Cudjoe, MP
30 Works and Housing (Minister of State) Hon. Freda Prempeh, MP


Some appointees who served as deputy ministers during Akufo-first Addo’s term have had their portfolios promoted into those of substantive ministers of their respective ministries for the central government ministers in 2022.

Dr. Yaw Adutwum, the deputy minister of education, and Godfred Dame, the former deputy attorney general, have both been promoted to the position of substantive minister.

Alongside Alan Kyeremanten, who will continue to serve as the Trade Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta has been retained in the Finance Ministry.

Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, the MP for Ablekuma West, remains in the Communications Ministry, while Kojo Oppong-Nkrumah, the MP for Ofoase-Ayirebi, will remain in his position as Minister of Information.

List of Current Regional Ministers in Ghana 2022/2023

1 Ahafo George Boakye
2 Ashanti Simon Osei-Mensah
3 Bono Justina Owusu-Banahene
4 Bono East Adu Gyan
5 Central Justina Marigold Assan
6 Eastern Seth Acheampong
7 Greater Accra Hon. Henry Quartey, MP
8 Northern Shani Alhassan Saibu
9 North East Yidana Zakaria
10 Oti Joseph Makubu
11 Savannah Saeed Muhazu Jibril
12 Upper East Stephen Yakubu
13 Upper West Dr. Hafiz Bin Salih
14 Volta Dr. Archibald Yao Letsa
15 Western Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah, MP
16 Western North Richard Obeng

What is the function of a Regional Minister? 

The function of a regional Minister is to champion the region at high-level events and with regard to high-profile projects (including through a programme of regional visits), and to represent the Government with regard to central government policy at regional committee hearings and at parliamentary debates focused specifically on the region.

See also  NCA releases punitive actions against unregistered SIM cards

Some new faces have been introduced this year in the list of current regional ministers in Ghana.

The MP for Ahanta West, Kojo Kum has been posted to the Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs Ministry, whilst the Lands and Natural Resources Ministry will be headed by the MP for Damongo, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor.

Further, a total of seven ministries, namely Aviation, Business Development, Inner City and Zongo Development, Monitoring and Evaluation, Planning, Regional Re-organisation and Development, and Special Development Initiatives, have either been absorbed into or aligned with other ministries or government agencies.

The Office of the Senior Minister has, however, been abolished.

According to the President, the special-purpose Ministries have all achieved the purposes for which they were established, hence, the changes.

Check: List Of Members of Parliament (MPs) in Ghana 2022/2023

Summary of Current Ministers and Ministries in Ghana, 2022/2023

In all, President Akufo-Addo announced a total of 30 Ministers, and 16 Regional Ministers, bringing the total number of Ministers to 46, eight of which are women – six ministers and two Regional Ministers.

Download the list of Ministers above in PDF format below;


Job & Scholarship Alert

Get daily Job and Scholarship updates on Whatsapp, Join Our WhatsApp Group via the link above.


Click Here To Join WhatsApp Group


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here