ECG gives 1month moratorium ahead customer update exercise

The Electricity Company of Ghana (ECG) is giving all customers one month to rectify all anomalies with their meters ahead of a customer update exercise.

To assist this exercise, all costumers are being given a moratorium of one month, beginning 7th June to 6th July, 2022, to report to their District/Regional offices for rectification of the underlisted issues:

See also  Ofori-Atta is Still in Office because of his Surname-Tamale Central MP
  • Postpaid customers who have meters but do not receive bills
  • Prepaid customers who do not purchase electricity credits

[the_ad id=”2914″]

  • Customers whose meters are faulty
  • Customers who have by-passed or tampered with their meters and are therefore not paying for the full cost of power usage
  • Customers who have engaged in any form of electrical illegality, etc.

[the_ad id=”2914″]

The power distribution company also emphasized that customers caught engaged in illegality after the customer update exercises “will be charged with the offense of stealing in accordance with the law”.

Their names shall also be published widely” they added

The whole statement can be found below.


The Electricity Company of Ghana is a limited liability company wholly owned the Government of Ghana. The Company was incorporated under the Companies Code, 1963 in February 1997. It began as the Electricity Department on 1st April 1947 and later became the Electricity Division in 1962. It was subsequently converted into Electricity Division in 1962. It was subsequently converted into Electricity Corporation of Ghana by NLC Decree 125 in 1967.

In July 1987, the Volta River Authority set up the Northern Electricity Department (NED), which took over from ECG the responsibility of the management of electric power distribution in Brong-Ahafo, Northern, Upper East and Upper West Regions. The Company is therefore responsible for the distribution of electricity in nine (9) Operational Regions in the southern part of Ghana namely, Accra East, Accra West, Tema, Eastern, Central, Volta, Western, Ashanti and Sub-Transmission, which are further decentralized into eighty eight (88) operational districts.

WhatsApp Group

Leave a Comment